Thank You, Bonus!

Bonus letters were released recently within my company and I had a shock of my life… because I received a 9 months bonus payout!

I am super thankful for this bonus because we see news of companies freezing salaries, asking employees to take no-pay leave and senior management to take voluntary pay cuts. I was quite worried that the HR department might take the chance and withhold the salary increments and bonuses due to the current economic environment. From the company’s perspective, that is actually a reasonable thing to do as the COVID-19 situation has no end in sight.

Cash on hand is now approximately 25% of my net worth and I am undecided on how to allocate these excess funds. Psychologically, the enlarged cash buffer (which was one of my short-term plans) makes me feel a lot more comfortable because I know I can take advantage of any further market dips.

One thing I am reasonably confident of: I will not be reducing my personal income tax for YA2021 by topping up the CPF / SRA accounts. I prefer my money liquid and I believe I can generate a better return in the long-run.

Leave a comment